2013 Wine for the Spirit

Oakwood Hospital - Wayne Medical Staff proudly presented the 18th Annual Wine for the Spirit, hosted by Morrison Management Specialists on Saturday, October 26th at the MGM Grand Detroit.  The event raised over $500K to benefit patients living with diabetes, obesity and nutritional disorders. 


The Bordeaux Benefactor Reception, sponsored by Drew Besonson, began the evening thanking the benefactors of the event.  Highlights of the evening were Champagne Toast, sponsored by Anesthesia Associates of Ann Arbor, strolling wine and delicious food pairings from around the world, Toast to Friendship hosted by Toni & Randy Kowalski, Toast to Health & Wellness hosted by REDICO, Toast to Prosperity hosted by Ceaser Capital Management, LLC .  Other features included wine demonstrations, cooking demonstrations, silent auction, raffle and the very popular Fine Wine Tasting Room, sponsored by Drs Rakesh & Trupti Patel


Over the past 18 years, the Wine for the Spirit event has raised over $6M to benefit Oakwood and various programs to provide excellence in care, healing and health to the individuals and communities we serve. 

Browse, view and download photos

Title sponsor

Oakwood Hospital - Wayne Medical Staff

Classic Sponsor

Morrison Management Specialists

Dr. Mark and Peggy Saffer

Ford Motor Company Fund

Oakwood Executive Team

Oakwood Hospital - Southshore Medical Staff

Bordeaux Benefactor Reception Sponsor
Drew Besonson

Champagne Toast Sponsor

Anesthesia Associates of Ann Arbor


Fine Wine Room Sponsor

Drs. Rakesh & Trupti Patel

Toast to Frienship, hosted by
Toni & Randy Kowalski

Toast to Health & Wellness


Continuum Services

American House- Senior Living Communities

Toast to Prosperity

Ceaser Capital Management, LLC

Cabernet Sponsor

Great Lakes Caring

Munder Capital Management

Chardonnay Sponsor

CareTech Solutions

Client Financial Services


Elite Fire Safety, Inc

Fifth Third Bank

Harris, Birkhill, Wang, Songe & Associates, PC

Kitch Drutchas Wagner Valitutti & Sherbrook

Medline Industries

Midwest Health Plan, Inc

Reino Linen Service

Tanoury, Nauts, McKinney & Garbarino, PLLC


Wayne State University Physician Group

Merlot Sponsors

Corbet, Shaw, Essad, Tucciarone & Bonasso, PLLC
Corporate Elevator Consultants, Inc
Farbman Group
Kheder Davis & Associates, Inc
Olympia Group, LLC
Total Health Care

Pinot Grigio Sponsors

AmeriCare Medical, Inc
Binsons's Hospital Supplies, Inc
Blue Care Network
Cardiovascular Perfusion Associates, LLC
Dr. Kenneth & Martha Casey
CoventryCares of Michigan, Inc
Crothall Healthcare, Inc
Dell, Inc
Dolenga & Dolenga, PLLC
EMC Corporation
Engineered Comfort Solutions
EPIC Systems Corporation
Health Alliance Plan
HealthLink Medical Transportation Services
Hospice of Michigan
Kasco, Inc
Judges Milton L. Mack, Jr. and Laura Mack
The Honorable Karen M. Mazo
Mechanical Services, LLC
Meridian Health Plan
New Diminsions Buildings & Ground Maintenance
Ottenwess, Allman & Taweel, PLC
Kenneth & Colleen Pellegrino
River Run Press
Robert & Kathleen Rosowski
Jeff & Jennifer Sampson
SKYL/Dr. Yoon
Terumo Medical Corporation

Shiraz Sponsors

Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Michigan
Butzel Long
Critical Care Medical Partners, PC
David M. Baldridge, PC

George Johnson & Company
Hongiman Miller Schwartz and Cohn, LLP
Innovative Medical Systems, Inc
Internet Payment Exchange, Inc
Erika S. Luster, MD
Molina Healthcare of Michigan
Riley & Hurley, PC
Gary & Debbie Stanford
University of Michigan – Dearborn

Advertising Sponsors

Dillon Energy Services
DTE Energy
Lawrence Fallat, DPM, PC & Associates
Ferndale Electric
Gerry Lullove

George McIntosh, Inc
Vercruysse, Murray & Calzone, PC
Vibra Hospital
Wayne County Four Star Health

Event Committee Committee Members

Ron Moran
Event Chair

Neelam Kumar, MD
Chair, Foundation Board

Carla O'Malley
Senior Vice-President, OHI
Executive Director & President, OHF

Eric Widner
Administrative Leadership

Patrick Rugiero
Community Champion 

Drew Besonson
Sasi Boppana, MD
Rob Bovitz
Michael Ceaser
Chet Czaplicka
Greg Erne
Lawrence Fallat, DPM
Lynn Flynn
Miguel Granados, MD
Ashok B. Jain, MD
Tiffin Kaczkowski
Heather Kaper

Mark Lezotte
Seth & Terry Lloyd
Terry Marentette
Dolores Pfeffer
Betty Priskorn
Chandrakant Pujara, MD
Said Saie, MD
Pete & Lori Seilo
Gary & Debbie Stanford
Doug Welday
Lisa Widner